Jon Randall made his way to Nashville from Dallas while he was still a teenager. He wasted no time, starting his professional musical journey on guitar with Emmylou Harris’ Nash Ramblers at only 20 years old. It was with the Nash Ramblers that Randall won his first Grammy for their Live at the Ryman album- a project that sparked a movement to restore the Mother Church of Country Music. As a skilled multi-instrumentalist and exceptional vocalist, Randall has toured and recorded with countless household names including Lyle Lovett, J2B2, The Sam Bush Band, Vince Gill, Earl Scruggs Family and Friends, and Dierks Bentley, in addition to on-stage appearances with the likes of Sheryl Crow, Widespread Panic, Kid Rock, and more.

Randall released his debut solo album, What You Don’t Know, in 1995 on RCA. His three subsequent albums have all been met with much critical acclaim. 1998’s Cold Coffee Morning is a cult classic. This rare gem from his time with Elektra/Asylum is a fan favorite with collector status. Music journalist Philip Van Vleck describes Randall’s independent 1999 album, Willin’, as “a dazzling collection of tunes.” Willin’ reveals Randall’s bluegrass roots and as Van Vleck puts it, “the resulting vibe is a tasty bit of eclecticism that probably fits as readily into the Americana category as it does in country.” In 2005 Randall released Walking Among the Living– a true writer’s record. Critic Stephen Thomas Erlewine calls it “quiet and gentle, spare and unadorned, with the minimal, acoustic-based arrangements emphasizing not just Randall’s words, but his lean, tightly constructed compositions.” Randall wrote or co-wrote all but one song on Walking Among the Living, including the title track, which he penned with his wife, Jessi Alexander.

His own records would be enough to establish him as a successful songwriter, but Randall has had cuts with everyone from Guy Clark to Blake Shelton. Randall’s song, “Whiskey Lullaby” (co-written with Whisperin’ Bill Anderson) was a huge hit for Brad Paisley and Alison Krauss, going double platinum and taking home the prestigious Country Music Association (CMA) award for Song of the Year in 2005. Randall has also been awarded Grammy, IBMA, Music City News, NSAI, and BMI awards for various recordings including three number one records on the Billboard Country Music Chart and five songs in the Billboard Country Top Forty. Jon Randall and his cowriters (Miranda Lambert and Jack Ingram) took home the 2017 ACM Song of the Year Award for their song, “Tin Man.”

Beyond writing, performing, playing, and singing Jon Randall is also an acclaimed producer. He found success with Dierks Bentley’s critically acclaimed acoustic project Up On The Ridge which earned CMA, ACM, and GRAMMY Nominations for album of the year. Other production credits include Dierks Bentley’s number one hit single “Am I The Only One,” as well as albums for Pat Green, Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Jack Ingram, Darden Smith, and The Missing Cats featuring Jo Jo Herman [Wide Spread Panic], Mike Mills [R.E.M.], and Cody and Luther Dickinson [North Mississippi All Stars].

Jon Randall signed a publishing deal with Still Working Music in 2015 and continues to write, record, perform, and produce. He is now serving as a Governor on the board of the Nashville Chapter Recording Academy where he previously served as President. He and his wife, Jessi, have three children. Randall splits his time between Tennessee and Texas when he’s not touring with his band 18 South.




Personal Discography

1995 What You Don’t Know
1998 Cold Coffee Morning
1999 Willin’
2005 Walking Among the Living

Producer Credits

Down Home Jessi Alexander
Nobody Knows You Steep Canyon Rangers
Swimming Pools, Movie Stars Dwight Yoakam
Up On The Ridge Dierks Bentley
Home Pat Green
Speed of Life Nitty Gritty Dirt Band
Midnight Motel Jack Ingram
Love Calling Darden Smith

Notable Cuts:

“The Bull” (co-written with Luke Dick) Kip Moore
“Tin Man” Miranda Lambert
“Whiskey Lullaby” (co-written with Whisperin’ Bill Anderson) Brad Paisley & Alison Krauss
“Am I The Only One” Dierks Bentley
“You’re Dead to Me” (co-written with Dierks Bentley & Tim O’Brien)
“Down in the Mine” (co-written with Dierks Bentley)
“Drink On It” Blake Shelton
“Demons” Kenny Chesney
“Still Feels Like Mexico” (co-written with Tommy Lee James) Ronnie Dunn
“Break Each Other’s Hearts Again” (co-written with John Wiggins) Reba McEntire & Don Henley
“When Love Gets a Hold of You” (co-written with Jessi Alexander & Gary Nicholson) Reba McEntire
“Puppies In Knapsacks” (co-written with Sam Bush)
“Song for Roy” (co-written with Sam Bush)
“Bowling Green” (co-written with Sam Bush)
“Feel Something” (co-written with Sam Bush)
“You Burned the Bridge” Patty Loveless
“Girls From Texas” (co-written with Shane McAnally) Pat Green & Lyle Lovett
“Firebird Fly” (co-written with Jessi Alexander) Little Big Town
“She’s So California” (co-written with Gary Allan & Jaime Hanna) Gary Allan
“Savior’s Shadow” (co-written with Jessi Alexander & Blake Shelton) Blake Shelton
“Carolina Moon” (co-written with Ron Stewart & Ronnie Stewart) Scotty McCreery
“The Woods” (co-written with Dierks Bentley & Jaren Johnston)
“Frozen Fields” (co-written with Jeff Black) Jerry Douglas
“Ain’t No Trouble to Me” (co-written with Guy Clark) Guy Clark
“Just Like You” Emmylou Harris
“Die Tryin’” (co-written with Guy Clark) Guy Clark